Conditional Formatting Highlighting Incorrect Rows

mawatts25

Ok. Not an excel master here but am somewhat familiar with formulas. Admittedly, I have never worked with conditional formatting before so most of this has been trial and error and google. I have a database with multiple columns of data. I need to highlight entire rows based on the presence or absence of data in a certain cell in that row. All of these rules need to apply from row 2 downward- row 1 is reserved for headers and should not be analyzed by the rules.

For example, if K2 has data in it (IE Not blank) I need all of row 2 highlighted. I have 4 total rules I have attempted to apply to the entire document, listed below.

However, everything highlights the row above, not the row I need. For example, if K2 has data in it (IE Not blank) I need all of row 2 highlighted, yet it highlights row 1.

Rules (all are formatted to highlight the row red, and all apply to $A:$N):
=NOT($J2="") meant to highlight an entire row if the J cell in that row contains data of any form
=NOT($JK="") meant to highlight an entire row if the K cell in that row contains data of any form
=I2="" meant to highlight an entire row if the I cell in that row is blank
=COUNTIF($A:$N,$A)>1 meant to highlight entire rows if duplicate data exists in the A column (IE rows 2 and 65 get highlighted because they have an identical A value)

Any help would be highly appreciated.
-Mike

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
Welcome to the Board!

It sounds like you are one row off when trying to apply your CF formulas.
Note that when trying to apply Conditional Formatting formulas across multiple cell ranges, after selecting your range, you need to write the formula as it pertains to the very FIRST cell in your selection.
So, if you are selecting entire columns, you would write the formula to reference row 1, not row 2.