Home Accounts excel sheet issue displaying Totals

Jasper777

Hi, probably a basic question so apologies in advance.
what I have is an excel sheet comprising several columns simply put col 1 date, col 2 income1, col 3 income 2, col 4 outgoing, col 5 other outgoing, col 6 reason, col 7 visa or cheque no, col 8 regular balance, col 9 other balance, col 10 total balance.
I have been keeping these accounts for several years so have thousands of rows in my excel sheet.
what I am trying to achieve is the ability to display the "current total" ie. balance from col 8 in a cell in row 1 of the spreadsheet.

the way I use the spreadsheet is quite basic in that I input my income, copy and paste from another sheet with my outgoings listed update the specific dates that they are due out of my account, this leaves me a running Total in col 8 of my available funds.
each week or so I update the sheet with my latest outgoings.

you will appreciate that the income is once a month and the outgoings vary from month to month and the running total is the last row on which an entry has been made. I copy a formula that carries on down the spreadsheet.

I am looking for a formula that will display the running total from the last entry in a cell in row 1 at the top of the sheet. as the data is entered the last entry will change and therefore I need to reflect this in the formula, I just don't know how to, any advice /help much appreciated.

Excel Facts

How to total the visible cells?
From the first blank cell below a filtered data set, press Alt+=. Instead of SUM, you will get SUBTOTAL(9,)
Try something like this...
B​
C​
D​
1​
2​
10​
60​
3​
20​
4​
30​
5​
40​
6​
50​
7​
60​
D2=INDEX($B$2:$B$10,MATCH(0,B2:B10,-1))

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
RandomExceller01

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.