Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: Yahoo Finance api change?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Yahoo Finance api change?

    I use the yahoo financial api to download mutual fund prices each day. It has worked fine for months. Today I got

    run time error 1004 application defined or object defined error

    the apparent cause of the error is highlighted in bold below.

    { code
    Set DataSheet = ActiveSheet
    With ActiveSheet.QueryTables.Add(Connection:="URL;" & qurl, Destination:=Range("BQ5"))
    .BackgroundQuery = True
    ' .TablesOnlyFromHTML = False
    .FillAdjacentFormulas = False
    .Refresh BackgroundQuery:=False '<---- cause of the bug 11/2/2017
    .SaveData = True
    End With

    end code}

    I know Yahoo will make changes without any notification. Does anyone have information on this?

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yahoo Finance api change?

    Quote Originally Posted by sedgefield02 View Post
    I use the yahoo financial api to download mutual fund prices each day. It has worked fine for months. Today I got

    run time error 1004 application defined or object defined error

    .Refresh BackgroundQuery:=False '<---- cause of the bug 11/2/2017
    Hi sedgefield02,
    I get the same error. It worked yesterday morning but failed yesterday afternoon. You're right that Yahoo changes this without warning and doesn't provide info; they may have even dropped the 'service' (it's never been officially supported). And I have yet to find a fix....

    Anyone have an idea? Or a suggestion for a good (i.e. free) alternative source?

    Jim

  3. #3
    Board Regular igold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Delray Beach, FL, USA
    Posts
    2,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yahoo Finance api change?

    I too have used the Yahoo quoting service for years. This is now the response:

    It has come to our attention that this service is being used in violation of the Yahoo Terms of Service. As such, the service is being discontinued. For all future markets and equities data research, please refer to finance.yahoo.com.

    Fcn Yahoo!
    ​igold

    I'm a drinker with a coding problem...

    All code is written with Excel 2010 - Please test all code on a backup copy of your data.


  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yahoo Finance api change?

    Yep, same here, only a matter of time when Verizon took over.
    They eliminated the history, now they are eliminating the end of day.
    Stopped for me on 11/1 with a 999 error, now I'm getting a 403.

    Couple of alts:


    Google api
    strURL = "https://finance.google.com/finance/historical?q=" & strTicker & "&output=csv" - Only goes back 12 months.

    Quote Media:
    https://app.quotemedia.com/quotetool...&startMonth=02
    &startYear=2002&endDay=02&endMonth=07&endYear=2009&isRanged=false&symbol=[Symbol name]

    eoddata

  5. #5
    Board Regular igold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Delray Beach, FL, USA
    Posts
    2,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yahoo Finance api change?

    I saw that option during my research, only I found that you can extend your period

    I cannot get the url to post correctly but where you have strTicker you can add beginning and ending dates (greater than 12 months). Give me a couple and I will try to figure out how to post the entire URL.

    I really need just a simple daily open and close. I can obviously change the dates for today only but I am holding close to 50 equities, which would mean I have to run the url 50 times and parse the csv as it comes in. Doable, but not liking it.
    Last edited by igold; Nov 2nd, 2017 at 08:50 PM.
    ​igold

    I'm a drinker with a coding problem...

    All code is written with Excel 2010 - Please test all code on a backup copy of your data.


  6. #6
    Board Regular igold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Delray Beach, FL, USA
    Posts
    2,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yahoo Finance api change?

    "http://finance.google.com/finance/historical?q=NYSE:WMT & startdate=Nov+3+2015 & enddate=Nov+2+2017 & output=csv"
    ​igold

    I'm a drinker with a coding problem...

    All code is written with Excel 2010 - Please test all code on a backup copy of your data.


  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yahoo Finance api change?


    This should be good for what you are doing.

    https://finance.google.com/finance/h...=FB&output=csv


    Is how it is used.
    Then I would read through until I got to the date that I already had and finished.



    I had the date url as well, I don't have to go back that far generally

    This is what I was using:

    http://www.google.com/finance/histor...KAP&output=csv

    Yours is obviously cleaner.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yahoo Finance api change?

    This should be good for what you are doing.

    "https://finance.google.com/finance/historical?q=FB&output=csv"


    Is how it is used.
    Then I would read through until I got to the date that I already had and finished.



    I had the date url as well, I don't have to go back that far generally

    This is what I was using:

    "http://www.google.com/finance/historical?q=FB&startdate=Jan+1"%2C+2016&enddate=Jan+1%2C+2017&num=30&ei=gnUrVvGHDYbPedfriKAP&output=csv"

    Yours is obviously cleaner.[/QUOTE]

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yahoo Finance api change?

    Correction on quotemedia.

    Sample url:

    "http://app.quotemedia.com/quotetools/getHistoryDownload.csv?&webmasterId=501&startDay=01&startMonth=01&startYear=2017&endDay=12&endMonth=11&endYear=2017&isRanged=false&symbol=MSFT"

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yahoo Finance api change?

    Anyone know how to get the current (15 min delayed quote) for a list of symbols? I'll the miss all the finance fields available from Yahoo though.

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •