VBA help for newbie

DAD

Board Regular
Hi Guys and Gals,

I have a project I have been working on for quite some time, but unable to find a workable solution. Up until now, I have been trying to find a solution without the use of VBA, as I am a relative newbie to VBA, but doing lots of reading and "trial and error" coding to fix that. Unfortunately the non-VBA solution is too big and too unworkable, so I am now trying it using VBA solution. I was hoping some of you may generously help get me on the right track?

So I work for a small company, and I am trying to make our system of allocation holiday/vacation dates a little more streamlined. To this end, I have come up with an algorithm to allocate the leave, but just now need to be able to code that into excel so employees can see if their desired leave dates will be approved.

If you observe the pic below, I have drastically simplified the final solution so that it may make it easier for you to help me down the right path. You will see that the employees are Smith, Jones and Chang. They can request up to 3 periods of Holidays/vacation per year, and they allocate each of the periods a priority, 1 being the most desired, 3 being the least. If there is no clash with other requested dates, it is approved, and the column titled "Approved" beside the requested period will say YES. If there is a clash of dates (with any of the dates entered in Priority 1-3), then the person that has the higher priority dates entered (1-3) will have their leave approved (YES) and the lower priority will have NO in the Approved? column. Should the dates clash, and the priority be the same, then the person with the higher seniority (that is the earlier date in column L will be approved (YES), the lower seniority with NO. Should The dates clash, the priority the same, the seniority the same, then the final step will be to allocate the leave to the oldest person (column N).

So to summarise:

1. No clash of dates = Approved