Trying to use cell value as part of file path.

cameronnicol

Apologies for the noobiness, I'm a CAD technician who's been roped into helping with some excel stuff. I'm trying to accomplish this using functions as I haven't used VBA before (although I'm open to trying it out).

Problem:

I have a 'master' workbook that contains hundreds of sheets, each with an order number in cell A1. Each order has it's own workbook and the 'master' workbook has a sheet for each order. These sheets contain cells that are linked to the orders own workbook. I would like to be able to update the file path for each linked cell by just changing the value in A1.

At the moment I have something like this in each linked cell:
=C:\Orders\101\[101 - Checklist.xlsx]Sheet1'!$C$10

What I would like is something like this:
=C:\Orders\(A1)\[(A1) - Checklist.xlsx]Sheet1'!$C$10

Where (A1) would be an instruction to copy the order number and paste it into the file path.

I've tried recording a macro to do this, but it always copied the same order number into the file path, instead of copying it from A1. I've also used the find and replace method, but as I'm going to be handing this onto colleagues once completed, I'd rather keep it as simple as possible, so just typing the order number into A1 would be ideal.

I've looked around for solutions but I'm having no luck. Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
Perhaps ="C:\Orders"&indirect(a1)&"\["&indirect(A1)&" - Checklist.xlsx]Sheet1'!$C$10"

Upvote 0
Thanks for the response Arthurbr!

Unfortunately it's giving me a #REF ! error.

I've also just tried =CELL("contents",A1) in place of the file name, as I haven't seen that suggested anywhere. But I'm assuming that function can only be used to populate a cell, not a file path.

Upvote 0