M is for (Data) Monkey: stuck on first example!

Tim Reynolds

Hi all

I recently got the above book, by Ken Puls and Miguel Escobar, and have a problem with the first example file "Ch01-Delimited.csv", which I downloaded in the way described by the book (same problem occurs if I try the text file "Ch01-Delimited.txt" instead of the csv).

I am new to Power Query but managed to extract this file by following the instructions in the book. The problem is that the last column of data, called "Sum of Amount" is supposed to be Transformed automatically by PQ to numeric values, but it just stays as text.

The data in this column are all basic dollar/cent values, with negatives indicated by parentheses, e.g.

$2.73
($22.07)

If I right-click the column and try to change data type to Decimal Number or Currency, all the values in the column are replaced by the word "Error". Clicking on one of these errors shows the following message in yellow at the bottom of the screen.

DataFormat.Error: We couldn't convert to Number.
Details:
($22.07)

The other 3 columns are transformed as expected: the first contains dates and the next two contain numbers.

Can anyone explain why PQ is not transforming the last column as the book says it should and converting the text to numbers?

For info, I am running Office 365 v 1711 (Build 8730.2127) on Windows 10. I am in the UK, so default currency is £, rather than $, but surely PQ would not be stumped by that?

Any help would be appreciated. The book looks really good and useful; it's a shame to have got off to a rocky start.

Thank you, Tim

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year
Use =EDATE(A2,1) for one month later. Use EDATE(A2,12) for one year later.
What problems did you have downloading the file?

Upvote 0
Hi, thanks for the replies.