Column ordering function/process

ilnovi

Hi,

Thank you for giving me the possibility of posting here my issue. I am a Surgeon, and I am doing a research project. My job is to perform a chart review and record patient's variables. Thus the structure of my excel files is pretty simple: patient identifier=rows and variables=columns.

My issue is the following: I have some patients(=rows) that are missing in one file but are present in another file. Thus the goal is to bring some rows (i.e. patients) from one file to another. The problem is that since the variables (=columns) are slightly different (for number and quality) from file to file, I cannot copy and paste. The fastest thing that I came up is just manually ordering the columns on one file so that it has the same order of the other file (at the cost of adding blank columns). Nevertheless, this is a very lengthy and time-consuming process since I have almost 300 columns in each file.

Long story short: is there a function that could help me ordering the columns of one file so that they correspond to that of another file?
If I could achieve this, then I could perform a simple copy paste of the rows I am interested in from file to file.

Any other idea is appreciated, but please try to avoid a VBA solution since I do not know anything about it (at the first issue I would be screwed).

Thank you!

Cheers

Excel Facts

Round to nearest half hour?
Use =MROUND(A2,"0:30") to round to nearest half hour. Use =CEILING(A2,"0:30") to round to next half hour.
1. Copy just the column header row from each. Paste them in separate columns on a blank sheet, a few columns apart from each other. Paste as transpose values, so that the column names of each respective sheet are in rows.