Average groups of non-zero cells

Markeus

Hi,

I'm sure this has been asked before in some way but I wasn't sure how to search it...

I have a column of data which has intermittent non zero values. I would like to average the groups of non zero values and need a dynamic formula for this as the rows of data are many. here is an example of the data:

<tbody>
</tbody>

I would like to average the first 6,5,4 and then the next 6,5,4,3 in a second column. I have 20k rows of data in reality and there is no pattern to how many rows appear in a grouping.

Thanks for any help.

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?
The Excel team increased the size of the grid in 2007. There are 2^20 rows and 2^14 columns for a total of 17 billion cells.
Hi Markeus

I am by no means an expert, but I think you might be asking the impossible from a formula, and you probably need vb code to do what you are asking.

But to clarify, you are saying that all the data you want is in a single column? (i.e. you have numbers (including zeros) in, say, A1:A20000?)

If so, where would you want the results returned? In column B? And then, would you want the result to appear next to every cell that has a non zero value? Or just next to the first non-zero value in each group?

Finally, is there any other data available that might help us? For example, if each grouping of numbers represents figures for a single month or day, maybe a pivot table would be a good solution.

For me at least it was hard to understand what you're asking for. Sometimes explain why helps.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
With data starting at A1 try this formula in B1 copied down to give an average on the last row of each group

=IF(AND(A2=0,A1<>0),AVERAGE(A1:INDEX(A$1:A1,IFERROR(MATCH(2,INDEX(1/(A$1:A1=0),0)),0)+1)),"")

Upvote 0
I have one request for a tweak to the formula barry...