lepend

Board Regular
Hi all,
Ive got the following formula and want to drag it but changing G:G in relation to the column
Code:
=SUMIFS(INDIRECT("'"&$F$4&"'!G:G"),INDIRECT("'"&$F$4&"'!C:C"),$E28,INDIRECT("'"&$F$4&"'!A:A"),$E$4)
Sorry, I didnt make this formula and really dont understand so well how this works so any explanations need to be for a complete newbie
Any help appreciated...
Thanks
lepend

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
Try this

=SUMIFS(OFFSET(INDIRECT("'"&$F$4&"'!G:G"),0,COLUMNS($A:A)-1),INDIRECT("'"&$F$4&"'!C:C"),$E28,INDIRECT("'"&$F$4&"'!A:A"),$E$4)

Upvote 0
I took off the $ in $E28 and it drags down now.. but I need to drag horizontally and the G:G does not change according to the column

Upvote 0
That's the purpose of the offset.
You won't actually 'See' the G in the formula change to H I J etc as you drag it across.
But the offset will correctly increment which column is actually being referenced.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
OK its just I have quite a lot of columns to do manually and if I add a column in the middle of the sheet(s) then I need to manually change all columns on the right of what i add.. I thought there might be an easy way...
Also, is it a simple change to this formula if I want to restrict the amount of cells in that column to calculate.. its just that whenever I enter any data it takes a long time to calculate.. hope im making sense

Upvote 0
if I add a column in the middle of the sheet(s) then I need to manually change all columns on the right of what i add
Why would you have to do that?
After inserting a column, you could just re-drag the formula from a column 'to the left' of where you inserted

This is really just the nature of indirect, there's not much you can do about it.

Upvote 0