Need Help Please with Excel Formula

Lindee

I am new to Excel and I'm trying to write a formula that will change the value of a set of numbers to a different value. i.e. 116 ~161~ 161 i.e. 225~ 552~525~ 520 for numbers 1 thru 0.
Would some kind soul Help me. I have started writing with the Subsitute function however I'm not advanced enough to go beyond the 1st 2 conversions.
Thanks in Advance.
Lindee

Excel Facts

Fastest way to copy a worksheet?
Hold down the Ctrl key while dragging tab for Sheet1 to the right. Excel will make a copy of the worksheet.
Welcome to the Board!

I think you need to describe to us in more details exactly what the conversion rules are.

Upvote 0
Thanks Joe for responding, I trying to take #'s 1 thru 9, in a matrix and it should be a matrix. if I for example have the number set of 116 I want to have a return value of 661, next value returned would be 616. In other words 1=6, 2=7, 3=8, 4=9, 5=0, so if you have a three digit number of 123 it would convert to 678, if you have double digits 232, it would convert to 787 then 877~434~...forgive me it is a permutations matrix, I think. :eek:

Upvote 0
I am sorry, it is still unclear to me.

If you have: 1=6, 2=7, 3=8, 4=9, 5=0, 6=1, 7=2 ,8=3, 9=4, 0=5,
then it makes sense how you get from 116 to 661 and 123 to 678 and 232 to 787.
But I do not understand how you then get 116 to 661, or 787 to 877.

You need to remember, while you are intimately familiar with the problem you are working on, we have NO idea what you are doing. All that we have is whatever you share with us.
So it is essential that you provide enough information that people who have no idea what you are trying to accomplish can understand it and help you.

Upvote 0
I'm sorry,,, please forgive me, the 116 converts to 661 by doubling the 6 to 66 then retaining the 1 , with the 787 my mistake,, double the 8 to 88 and retain the 7,= 878 so I'm converting the single digit to a double digit .
116~661
1=6 so 11 becomes 661
787~887