Excel automatically hiding certain columns

TanyaD

Hi,

Hoping you can help me. I am completely new to VBA but definitely willing to give it a try and I suspect it may be the only option to do what I need.

I have a large detailed calendar schedule for seven staff (each day has a column for each staff member). I'm hoping I can include a button for each staff member so when I press that button it only shows the columns for that staff member.

I'm guessing that to only show for staff1 the code would say something along the lines of if row 2 (the row that staff names are in) is "staff2" or "staff3" or "staff4" or "staff5" or "staff6" or "staff7" then hide. Which would then only leave Staff1's columns showing?

Greatly appreciate any help on this.

Cheers,

Tanya

Excel Facts

Whats the difference between CONCAT and CONCATENATE?
The newer CONCAT function can reference a range of cells. =CONCATENATE(A1,A2,A3,A4,A5) becomes =CONCAT(A1:A5)
Welcome to the Board!

I think that in order for us to help out, it is important for us to have a clear understanding of the structure of your data. While you cannot upload files to this site. But there are tools you can use to post screen images. They are listed in Section B of this link here: http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/board-a...forum-use.html (also, there is a Test Here forum on this board that you can use to test out these tools to make sure they are working correctly before using them in your question).

Also, using VBA, it may be possible to capture the login ID of your user, and use that to automatically determine which columns should be hidden automatically, if we can tie their login ID to the appropriate columns on the sheet.
Here is a thread which discusses how to get those values, and exactly what they are: https://www.mrexcel.com/forum/excel-questions/505370-application-username-environ-username.html

Upvote 0
Hi Joe!