Help with very long repetitive formula

senior_dolor

Hello everyone,

First question here though I've been using tips & tricks from the forum for many years now.

In the picture below you can see a very long formula that is essentially the same thing several times, with the red areas being the only changes. The question is if there's a way to rewrite the formula without having to use all these lines, but also to be able to adjust the number of repetitions based on the value of another cell. In theory this can be done manually for a rather large number of lines but you can imagine that it's not practical, customisable and definitely not good practice.

Tried using arrays in the red areas but no avail. Seems I'm doing something very wrong.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Capture.jpg
[/URL]
upload image
[/IMG]

esPJt7

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
Your index and match seem to be referring to single cells! Whats the reason for this ie: what are in those cells

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Forum!

Yes, your formula certainly can be simplified. But can you do a couple of things to help ....

1. Please post a screenshot so we can see where you are using this formula and the results you are getting, plus the values of the cells being referenced in the formula. See Part B here for ways you can post a screenshot.

https://www.mrexcel.com/forum/board-announcements/127080-guidelines-forum-use.html

2. Copy/paste your formula into the thread - no-one will want to key this from scratch based on an image.

Upvote 0
Your index and match seem to be referring to single cells! Whats the reason for this ie: what are in those cells