Excel Auto Create Unique Numeric Number

knm1872

Hello
I'm a total novice excel user but have a need at work that I'm hoping we can use excel to solve.
We need to create one place where 3 separate people can log applications taken from our customers - excel workbook.
To that end, they all need a unique identifier that we don't want them to generate or edit. We are hoping we can use excel to auto generate it based on information they put into the spreadsheet. This unique ID will be used to later import into another system.
We are attempting to eliminate duplicates into the future (over at least 2 calendar years).
I'm putting in a sample of what the spreadsheet can look like (there would be more columns with additional data but none would needed for this exercise).
Any help, ideas, suggestions, solutions you all could propose would be much appreciated. I'm in a bit over my head but am hoping excel can do something like this.
Thanks in advance,
Kathie

Unique IDDateLOBCustomer Name
LYYYYMMDDxxxxxx3/9/2018MortgageDoe, John
3/10/2018ConsumerSmith, Sally
3/11/2018CommercialABC Corporation
L = LOB 1=Mortgage
2=Consumer
3=Commercial
YYYYMMDDDate
xxxxxxAuto generated Unique ID
Auto generate and lock field for changes.
<colgroup><col width="142" style="width: 107pt; mso-width-source: userset; mso-width-alt: 5193;"> <col width="89" style="width: 67pt; mso-width-source: userset; mso-width-alt: 3254;"> <col width="107" style="width: 80pt; mso-width-source: userset; mso-width-alt: 3913;"> <col width="240" style="width: 180pt; mso-width-source: userset; mso-width-alt: 8777;"> <tbody> </tbody>

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
okay so I came up with 3 formulas that work in 3 different cells...can anyone help me combine them into one? I've given up on the YYYYMMDD and just went with year.