Using 'IF' and 'THEN' formula.

TheRadioBoy

Hi, could someone please help me?

If I wanted to display set text depending on the entry in a certain cell, how would I go about that please?

Say in my entry cell of E7 the word 'INTERNAL' was input, I'd like the phrase 'ACCEPTED' to be displayed in cell E17. If 'EXTERNAL' was to be input then I'd like the phrase 'NOT ACCEPTED' to be displayed at E17.

Is this a fairly easy process that I can adapt to other text.

I am quite new to formulas and am just getting to grips with the basics.

Many thanks for any advice you can offer!

Rob :rolleyes:

Excel Facts

Who is Mr Spreadsheet?
Author John Walkenbach was Mr Spreadsheet until his retirement in June 2019.
in E17

=if(E7="INTERNAL","ACCEPTED","NOT ACCEPTED")

or

=IF(E7="INTERNAL","","NOT ")&"ACCEPTED"

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Try this in E17:
Code:
=IF(ISNUMBER(SEARCH("INTERNAL",E7)),"ACCEPTED",IF(ISNUMBER(SEARCH("EXTERNAL",E7)),"NOT ACCEPTED",""))

Upvote 0
Thank you very much! I really appreciate your help!

I suspected it would be something straightforward, I'm just a bit dim!

Upvote 0
Note the main two differences in the proposed solutions:

If the value in E7 is NOT "INTERNAL" or "EXTERNAL", Alan's solution will return "NOT ACCEPTED" while mine will return nothing (blank).

You didn't say what you wanted to happen if E7 was neither "INTERNAL" or "EXTERNAL", so we just made different assumptions on what you want to happen there. Choose the one that suits you best.

Upvote 0
Note the main two differences in the proposed solutions:

If the value in E7 is NOT "INTERNAL" or "EXTERNAL", Alan's solution will return "NOT ACCEPTED" while mine will return nothing (blank).

You didn't say what you wanted to happen if E7 was neither "INTERNAL" or "EXTERNAL", so we just made different assumptions on what you want to happen there. Choose the one that suits you best.