Add a fixed value until threshold is reached. Output is first value after threshold.

kentongh

Hi Everyone, first post. I'm generally "pretty good" with excel but I have no VBA experience. Hoping to find a solution to this problem without use of VBA.

What I'm trying to do deals with dates, but for the sake of this I'm going to simplify it and I should be able to translate a solution to my application.

You have a starting value that is fixed. A threshold value that is fixed. and a step value that is fixed. I need to have my output cell count in increments of the step until it passes the threshold and show that first value after threshold.

~~~~~~
For example.
Starting value is 2. Threshold is 12 and step is 3.
It will go as follows; 2, 5, 8, 11, 14 (stop). The output should be 14, the first step beyond my threshold of 12.

Another example
Starting value is 4. Threshold is 20, step is 7.
Calculates 4, 11, 18, 25 (stop). 25 is the output.
~~~~~~
I do not need any of the incremental value in the steps up to the output, only the last value after the threshold is passed.

In my actual application, these are dates. I have a starting date that is fixed, say 1/1/2016. I'm stepping forward in increments with EDATE (4 months at a time) and I need the output to be the first date that is after today using the today() function. Today is of course, changing every time I open the sheet, so my output cell will step to the next 4 month increment when today's date surpasses the output cell.

I'm also new enough to this forum that I can't seem to figure out how to upload a non-URL based image. Sorry.

Appreciate any and all help. Thanks!
Ken

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).
Welcome to the MrExcel board!

Does this do what you want?

Excel Workbook
ABCD
1StartThresholdIncrementResult
Value above Threshold