Excel Formula help

Adam804t

I am new to excel and have some issues, i have made a tracking sheet to track student exams and assessments. When a student completes an exam i input there percentage mark into a cell next to their name
Name60%40%70%100%80%PassRPLPass

<tbody>
</tbody>
the pass criteria is 60% or greater, the word "Pass" or "RPL"
What i would like to do is when the cells relating to the topics meet any of that pass criteria i would like the cell with their name in to turn yellow. Obviously the example above would not change as one of the cells does not have pass criteria.
Can anyone help with this?

Adam

Excel Facts

Waterfall charts in Excel?
Office 365 customers have access to Waterfall charts since late 2016. They were added to Excel 2019.
Welcome to the MrExcel board!

See if this Conditional Formatting (Use a formula ..) does what you want. If you need detailed steps, post back.
You would select A2:A?? and apply the CF shown.

If this is not highlighting the correct cells, explain which ones are wrong and why.

Excel Workbook
ABCDEFGHI
2Name 160%40%70%100%80%PassRPLPass
3Name 260%80%70%100%80%PassRPLPass
4Name 361%61%61%61%61%61%61%61%
5Name 461%61%61%61%61%59%61%61%
6Name 5PassRPLPassPassPassPassPassPass
7Name 6100%100%100%100%100%100%100%
8Name 7PassPRLPassPassPassPassPassPass
CF Pass
Cells with Conditional Formatting
CellConditionCell FormatStop If True
A21. / Formula is =COUNTIF($B2:$I2,">=0.6")+COUNTIF($B2:$I2,"Pass")+COUNTIF($B2:$I2,"RPL")=COLUMNS($B2:$I2)Abc

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Hi that looks like is will do what i want it to however i have just realised (and in hindsight should have explained earlier on) that the arrangements of cells i have made is more complicated is there a way i could send you a copy of my document for you to look at?

Upvote 0
Exchanging files privately is not permitted by the Forum Rules - see #4