placing macro in sheet code vs module code - "Cannot run the macro" error

Special K

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
I am studying the stop watch example shown on this page and trying to incorporate it into a spreadsheet:

https://trumpexcel.com/stopwatch-in-excel/

The demo has 3 key functions: one to start the stopwatch, one to stop it, and one to reset it (NOTE: color formatting code and other unnecessary details removed from original example):

Code:
Dim NextTick As Date
Dim t As Date
Dim PreviousTimerValue As Date

Sub StartTime()

PreviousTimerValue = Sheets("timer_test").Range("O2").Value
    t = Time
    Call ExcelStopWatch

End Sub

Sub ExcelStopWatch()

Sheets("timer_test").Range("O2").Value = Format(Time - t + PreviousTimerValue, "hh:mm:ss")
    NextTick = Now + TimeValue("00:00:01")
    Application.OnTime NextTick, "ExcelStopWatch"

End Sub

Sub StopClock()

On Error Resume Next
    Application.OnTime earliesttime:=NextTick, procedure:="ExcelStopWatch", schedule:=False

End Sub

Sub Reset()

On Error Resume Next
    Application.OnTime earliesttime:=NextTick, procedure:="ExcelStopWatch", schedule:=False
    Sheets("timer_test").Range("O2").Value = 0

End Sub

Cell O2 on sheet "timer_test" contains the stopwatch itself. The workbook file name is "time_trials - First Run.xlsm" (without the quotes).

My existing timer_test sheet already contains buttons and associated VBA code, so I decided to just copy all of the stopwatch-related code above into my timer_test VBA code document. When I tried to run it by calling the StartTime function from within an existing Private Sub, I received the following error:

Cannot run the macro "time_trials - First Run.xlsm'!ExcelStopWatch'. The macro may not be available in this workbook or all macros may be disabled.