VBA for using groups in a protected workbook

Rebro88

Hi guys,

I'm currently in the process of creating a training matrix.
I designed the layout thinking I wouldn't need to go the lengths of protecting certain areas of the work sheets, but a colleague of mine has proven me wrong.
I protected the sheets not realising it would stop the groups from expanding / collapsing.
After a few google searches I found a needed a VBA code to make this work.

I have tried multiple codes that I have found online with some minor success. I have never used VBA's before so have no knowledge of how to structure the codes.
I am just providing my colleague with a blank layout and he will populate from there, copying the relevant worksheet depending on job role of the person he is adding.

Some of the issues I have come across with codes online are that they work fine when I have put them in but after closing and reopening they no longer work. I have also had some asking for a password when you open the workbook which isn't a suitable option.

Some of the worksheets do not need protecting and do not have groups I'm not sure if this makes any difference. I have un-selected locked on the cells I want my colleague to be able to enter data.
I would like to be able to expand and collapse groups in the protected worksheets.

Any help is much appreciated, I want to get this handed over so I have my weekends back.

Thanks,
Rebro88

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
Tried a few more codes I found through google, can’t get them to work as I need.
can anyone help?

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
JPav

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel