Strange Excel Crashes

asw122

Hi all,

So I'm working on improving my ability to write and understand macros (I'm entirely self-taught in excel, so I figure why change that now?). Basically writing Macros, then looking for ways to make them better/faster.

Anyway, when I'm designing subs and functions, I put watches on the variables so that I can step through and see what's happening.

Strange thing is that sometimes, Excel crashes when adding watches. Even stranger, it only happens when I put a watch on a second variable. So say I have variables a & b:

Watch variable a, but not b = fine
Watch variable b, but not a = fine
Watch variable a, then add a watch to variable b = crash
Watch variable b, then add a watch to variable a = crash

It seems to happen a few times, then suddenly, its OK. I could understand if I was trying to actually run the code and there was a flaw, but this is literally me adding watches (and they're the only watches, nothing else in the watch window) - I haven't actually written any real code yet - just the dim statements to define the variables, and a for loop without anything in it yet.

Is this something anyone has encountered? Am I doing something unknowingly which could be causing this, or is it more likely a case that excel needs a repair install or something similar?

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
Hi asw122,

I commend you on your efforts to learn VBA. But these issues can be from anywhere. Stack issues, memory issues, you did not say if you are working on Windows, or the Mac version, or what version is running. Try and rebuild the workbook, and possibly restart the computer and don’t do anything but this test. No applications running, see if it is that kind of issue that stems from the OS itself.

Upvote 0
Hi asw122,