Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: VLOOKUP / MATCH cell selection error

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default VLOOKUP / MATCH cell selection error

    HI!
    I am using a vlookup/match to populate fields from column headers. For the most part it's doing exactly what I need except instead of pulling column 2 twice and not pulling column 7.

    code I am using:
    =VLOOKUP($A$10,$A$2:$G$6,MATCH(B9,A1:G1,0)0)

    I copied the code across the columns it looks right to me, but it pulls columns
    2,2,3,4,5,6

    Help! Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    1,160
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: VLOOKUP / MATCH cell selection error

    =VLOOKUP($A$10,$A$2:$G$6,MATCH(B9,A1:G1,0)0)
    \

    Are you missing a comma at the end?

    =VLOOKUP($A$10,$A$2:$G$6,MATCH(B9,A1:G1,0),0)


    Your formula may be returning TRUE version instead of FALSE
    Last edited by Joyner; Jul 26th, 2018 at 08:51 AM.
    forum use guidelines; forum rules; terms of use; FAQs Use code tags [ Code ] your code here [ /Code ] Try searching for your answer first, see how

    Work - 32 bit Office 2016 Win10 .... Home - Office 365 Win10

    I solve for X but don't know Y


  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    5,656
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: VLOOKUP / MATCH cell selection error

    You need to absolute the A1:G1 in the MATCH.

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5,005
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: VLOOKUP / MATCH cell selection error

    B9 and A1:G1 don't have $ in front of them, which means they change as you copy across/down. Adjust and see if you get the correct results. Also be sure that $A$10 should be absolute.
    Last edited by sheetspread; Jul 26th, 2018 at 08:52 AM.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: VLOOKUP / MATCH cell selection error

    THANK YOU! This is exactly what was wrong. I have been working on this for days!

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: VLOOKUP / MATCH cell selection error

    I had it working perfectly, went back and added in all of my data, and now it is doing the same thing again. Am I just missing something because I have been looking at for so long?

    =VLOOKUP($A$2,Sheet2!$A$2:$O$77,MATCH($B1,Sheet2!A1:$O$1,0),0)

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: VLOOKUP / MATCH cell selection error

    Is there a way to leave cells blank if they do not apply to the object in my drop down list instead of it automatically placing a 0 in the cell?

  8. #8
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    5,656
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: VLOOKUP / MATCH cell selection error

    Yes you arent absoluting A1:O1 in your MATCH. Just the O1 part is absolute reference.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: VLOOKUP / MATCH cell selection error

    thank you! is there a way to leave the cells blank if they do not apply to the object in my drop down list instead of it automatically placing a 0 in the cell?

  10. #10
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    5,656
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: VLOOKUP / MATCH cell selection error

    something like:

    If(vlookup="","",vlookup)

    where vlookup is your current formula without the = sign.

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •