Automatically transferring a row to an archive once a specific cell becomes filled

uberbrah

Hello,

I am currently creating a spreadsheet that will be used forclient data-entry into excel. I am fairly new to excel and was wondering ifsomeone would be able to help me with developing a macro that will automaticallyarchive rows into a separate worksheet after they have become “completed” at acertain point. For instance, the last two columns in the row are titled “dateservice began” and “date service ended”, is it possible to have the entire row transferredas soon as the “date service began” cell has been filled in? I browsed theforum, but couldn’t seem to find an example where the triggering cell’s contentwas more broad than a specific value. Thank you very much for any help!

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?
The Excel team increased the size of the grid in 2007. There are 2^20 rows and 2^14 columns for a total of 17 billion cells.
Hello Uberbrah,

Try the following code placed in the worksheet module:-

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

Dim ws As Worksheet: Set ws = Sheets("Archive")

If Intersect(Target, Columns(10)) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
If Target.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub

If Target.Value <> "" Then
Target.EntireRow.Copy ws.Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(3)(2)
Target.EntireRow.Delete
End If

End Sub

The code assumes that the "Date Service Began" column is Column J (10). Once you place a value in a cell of the relevant row and then click away (or press enter or down arrow) the entire row will be transferred to the Archive sheet. The row of data is then deleted from the main sheet.

To implement the code:-

- Right click on your main sheet tab.
- Select "View Code" from the menu that appears.
- In the big white field that then appears, paste the above code.

I hope that this helps.

Cheerio,
vcoolio.

P.S. Please test the code in a copy of your workbook first.

Last edited:
Upvote 0