Loop through a folder and rename the files

Keala

I'm kind of new to VBA and wonder if there is a easy way to loop through a folder with let say 300 files add a letter in alphabetic order at the beginning of each file name. So if the file name is "Vpp_vs_Freq_at_PC-10.0_KKC-2.0_180817-143105" change the name to "A_Vpp_vs_Freq_at_PC-10.0_KKC-2.0_180817-143105", next to "B_Vpp_vs_Freq_at_AC-10.0_DC-2.0_180817-143108" and so on when it reach Z add ZA and so on until next time reach Z then add ZZA...

I have search for some hints but not really been able to find anything which matches what I'm looking for. I will appreciate if you can give me a suggestion or a direction where I can find the right information.

Thank you

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.
Try this macro on a copy of your folder, modifying the code where indicated to change the path variable.
Code:
Public Sub Rename_Files_in_Folder()

Dim path As String, filename As String
    Dim n As Long

path = "C:\path\to\folder\"               'MODIFY THIS LINE - FOLDER CONTAINING FILES TO BE RENAMED

If Right(path, 1) <> "\" Then path = path & "\"
    n = 0
    filename = Dir(path & "*.*")
    Do While filename <> vbNullString
        Name path & filename As path & String(n \ 26, "Z") & Chr(n Mod 26 + 65) & "_" & filename
        filename = Dir
        n = n + 1
    Loop

End Sub

Upvote 0
Very similar to @John_w but sufficiently different to warrant posting

Amend the folder path - include "\" at the end which avoids having to insert elsewhere
:eek: Test on a copy of your folder

Code:
Sub RenameFiles()
    Const fPath = "C:\Folder\SubFolder[COLOR=#ff0000]\[/COLOR]"                 'end path with[COLOR=#ff0000] "\"[/COLOR]
    Dim a As Long, myFile As String
    myFile = Dir(fPath & "*.*")
    a = 0
    Do While myFile <> ""
        a = a + 1