Comparing 2 lists and highlighting cells.

steveh8204

Board Regular
Hi, I am new to Vba and have picked up a lot but I still need some help with a spreadsheet I am putting together.

I have two sets of stock sheets (on separate worksheets) in the same file that I need to compare to see which ones exist in one that don't in the other and then highlight them.

I have made huge strides with using v-lookups inside macro modules to compare quantities that do exist in both (and compare) but I'm still not sure of the best way to highlight new ones as described above.

Any help with this would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Excel Facts

Remove leading & trailing spaces
Save as CSV to remove all leading and trailing spaces. It is faster than using TRIM().
I cannot tell what you are trying to compare with what from your description.
So I have assumed that you want to compare the stock item in column A in sheet1 with the stock item in column A in sheet2
You do not need VBA - conditional formatting can do this

- select range in sheet1 starting with A2 (allow for expansion - so I selected A2:A5000)
- click on ConditionalFormatting \ New Rule \ Use a formula... \ enter formula below \ and format as you want
=COUNTIF(Sheet2!A:A,A2)>0

- select range in sheet2 starting with A2 (allow for expansion - so I selected A2:A5000)
- click on ConditionalFormatting \ New Rule \ Use a formula... \ enter formula below \ and format as you want
=COUNTIF(Sheet1!A:A,A2)>0

If I have misinterpreted, please explain and include column letters etc in the explanation
thanks

Upvote 0
Hi,

Sorry yea probably could have explained a bit better. Typing a post on my phone with the missus in my ear ends up like that sometimes.

I'll try that after, I hadn't considered just using conditional formatting.