VBA: Automatically highlight cell when user enter data that does not match with another data from a different column

atisyam

Hello

I am not a programmer so I apologize if my title seems confusing. This is what I meant: Cell D5 will automatically highlight as the data entered does not match with E4 for the same vehicle number. Cell D3 will not be highlighted as the data entered matched with E2 for the same vehicle number. Hope it is possible. Thanks to anyone who can help.

ABCDEF
1Inspection dateVehicle NumberOld S/NNew S/NReason
210/1/18Sm1234-098Bus Arrival
310/2/18Sm1234098345Maintenance
412/2/18Sm5678-213Bus Arrival
512/3/18Sm5678345639Maintenance

<tbody>
</tbody>

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes
Hi atisyam,

Welcome to MrExcell!!

Try this event macro (i.e. has to go on the sheet in question not in a standard separate module):

Code:
Option Explicit
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

If Target.Column = 4 And Target.Row >= 3 Then
        If Target.Value <> Range("E" & Target.Row - 1) Then
            'Fill cell red if it does not match what's in
            'Col. E for the row above. Change to suit.
            Target.Interior.Color = RGB(255, 0, 0)
        Else
            'Clear any previous colour coding as the S/N's match
            Target.Interior.Color = xlNone
        End If
    End If

End Sub

Hope that helps,

Robert

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Hi , I think this method will not work unless you come out of cell.

Hi atisyam,

Welcome to MrExcell!!

Try this event macro (i.e. has to go on the sheet in question not in a standard separate module):

Code:
Option Explicit

If Target.Column = 4 And Target.Row >= 3 Then
        If Target.Value <> Range("E" & Target.Row - 1) Then
            'Col. E for the row above. Change to suit.
        Else
        End If
    End If

End Sub

Hope that helps,

Robert

Upvote 0