Insert formula using relative references with vba

mim92

Hi guys!! Just joined MrExcel so this is my 1st post/thread and I'm new to vba. I work in finance and have the following formula which I use to contra/net-off entries that cancel each other out i.e. debit 25 credit -25. I use this is various workbooks which helps me identify those values which actually make the total amount. Now I know simply retyping/copying the formula is easy to do but I wanted to know how I could determine certain properties in the formula as per below

Formula is = (COUNTIFS($B$2:B2,B2)<=MIN(COUNTIFS($B$2:$B$100000,-B2),(COUNTIFS($B$2:$B$100000,B2))))

1. Currently the above formula is in Column C so how do I determine what cell/column to look at when using vba to input the formula as each workbook will be different? i.e. I want the formula to look at column A instead of B (maybe input box?)

2. The no of records will always be different e.g. 500 rows instead of 100000 in formula above so I want the formula to be filled down according to the no of rows(maybe last row or cell?)

3. I want to select the range (Col/Cell) to input the formula e.g. C2 (input box again?)

4. If I want to insert my formula in col b but there is data I want to insert a column in front of col b

Think that's all for now

Thanks!

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
Hi Mim,
welcome to the world of Excel :). Most of what you want can be achieved with VBA/macros. A good way to start with macros is the macro recorder in Excel, combined with a small course (e.g. https://www.excel-pratique.com/en/vba.php or http://www.homeandlearn.org/ )