Adding percentages to times in a mm:ss:00 format

holdener

I am a swim coach and am trying to create a document where my athletes ca input their best times (mins:secs:hundredths) and it will add a percentage to show them goal times to achieve in practice.

For example:
Swimmers time is one minute (1:00.00). They input their time and a formula will export a time that is 10% SLOWER than their best time (1:06.00) do I have to convert to all seconds first (60 secs at 10% slower would be 66 secs) or can I do it in the mm:ss.00 format?

Thank you for your time.

Excel Facts

Test for Multiple Conditions in IF?
Use AND(test, test, test, test) or OR(test, test, test, ...) as the logical_test argument of IF.
A​
B​
C​
1​
Best time:
1:00.00​
Format of B1: [m]:ss.00
2​
Slower by
3​
5%​
1:03.00​
B3: =B$1*(1+A3)
4​
10%​
1:06.00​

Upvote 0
I am a swim coach and am trying to create a document where my athletes ca input their best times (mins:secs:hundredths) and it will add a percentage to show them goal times to achieve in practice.

For example:
Swimmers time is one minute (1:00.00). They input their time and a formula will export a time that is 10% SLOWER than their best time (1:06.00) do I have to convert to all seconds first (60 secs at 10% slower would be 66 secs) or can I do it in the mm:ss.00 format?

Thank you for your time.

Hi,
I too have found excel to be a PITA when trying to deal with swim times in MM:HH.00 format. Over the years I have tried several methods and have come to the conclusion that storing the times as text and converting to decimal seconds to to maths on them works best. There are several ways to convert the text to seconds using excel's built in formula, I happen to use

=IFERROR((IFERROR(LEFT(A1,FIND(“:”,A1)-1)* 60,0) ) + RIGHT(A1,LEN(A1)-FIND(“:”,A1)),VALUE(A1))