Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Why a function does not populate across when clicking the + icon?
Thanks Thanks: 0 Likes Likes: 0

  1. #1
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    301
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Why a function does not populate across when clicking the + icon?

    Hello,

    I have a function but when I click the + icon it does not populate across the whole column.

    Any idea how to fix this please?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Board Regular MARK858's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Southern England
    Posts
    11,063
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Why a function does not populate across when clicking the + icon?

    When you say the + icon do you mean clicking the bottom right hand corner? and you go down a column not across, is this what you mean? or do you mean going across multiple columns?
    Last edited by MARK858; Oct 2nd, 2018 at 11:31 AM.
    Test VBA on a copy of your data (remember you can't normally reverse the action)

    Please follow the forum Rules and Guidelines & please use Code tags around your code i.e. [CODE]your code[/CODE]

    To post a screenshot try one of these links
    MrExcel HTML Maker, RoryA addin (Win & Mac) or Borders-Copy-Paste

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    301
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Why a function does not populate across when clicking the + icon?

    Quote Originally Posted by MARK858 View Post
    When you say the + icon do you mean clicking the bottom right hand corner? and you go down a column not across, is this what you mean? or do you mean going across multiple columns?
    Yes, yes, no

  4. #4
    Board Regular MARK858's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Southern England
    Posts
    11,063
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Why a function does not populate across when clicking the + icon?

    Do you have a continuous column of data in a column next to the column you are autofilling (i.e no blank cells)? and are all the cells below the formula you are autofilling blank?
    Last edited by MARK858; Oct 2nd, 2018 at 10:54 PM.
    Test VBA on a copy of your data (remember you can't normally reverse the action)

    Please follow the forum Rules and Guidelines & please use Code tags around your code i.e. [CODE]your code[/CODE]

    To post a screenshot try one of these links
    MrExcel HTML Maker, RoryA addin (Win & Mac) or Borders-Copy-Paste

  5. #5
    Board Regular Michael M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    South Western NSW
    Posts
    17,804
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Why a function does not populate across when clicking the + icon?

    Ther isn't an autoclick for this ( don't know why?), but you can use....
    Click the bottom right corner and drag to the right
    OR

    Using copy/paste
    Select the first cell, copy with CTRL+C, extend selection to the end with CTRL+SHIFT+RIGHT, then paste with CTRL+V
    Last edited by Michael M; Oct 2nd, 2018 at 11:09 PM.
    Regards
    Michael M
    ---------------------------------------
    The more I learn, the less I seem to know.....A Please and Thank You cost nothing !
    It's easier to debug if we can see the whole macro !
    Home 2007 & 2013

    - Posting guidelines, forum rules and terms of use

    - To download Mr Excel HTML Maker

    - Try searching for your answer first, see how

    - Read the FAQs

    - List of BB codes


    [CODE]Place Your Code Here[/CODE]

  6. #6
    Board Regular MARK858's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Southern England
    Posts
    11,063
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Why a function does not populate across when clicking the + icon?

    The OP is filling down(see the Yes,yes,no) so there is a double click on the right hand bottom corner if an adjacent column is populated with no blank cells.
    Test VBA on a copy of your data (remember you can't normally reverse the action)

    Please follow the forum Rules and Guidelines & please use Code tags around your code i.e. [CODE]your code[/CODE]

    To post a screenshot try one of these links
    MrExcel HTML Maker, RoryA addin (Win & Mac) or Borders-Copy-Paste

  7. #7
    Board Regular Michael M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    South Western NSW
    Posts
    17,804
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Why a function does not populate across when clicking the + icon?

    Contrary to the Title then ??

    does not populate across the whole column.
    Regards
    Michael M
    ---------------------------------------
    The more I learn, the less I seem to know.....A Please and Thank You cost nothing !
    It's easier to debug if we can see the whole macro !
    Home 2007 & 2013

    - Posting guidelines, forum rules and terms of use

    - To download Mr Excel HTML Maker

    - Try searching for your answer first, see how

    - Read the FAQs

    - List of BB codes


    [CODE]Place Your Code Here[/CODE]

  8. #8
    Board Regular MARK858's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Southern England
    Posts
    11,063
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Why a function does not populate across when clicking the + icon?

    Yep, description wasn't making any sense to me with the title
    Test VBA on a copy of your data (remember you can't normally reverse the action)

    Please follow the forum Rules and Guidelines & please use Code tags around your code i.e. [CODE]your code[/CODE]

    To post a screenshot try one of these links
    MrExcel HTML Maker, RoryA addin (Win & Mac) or Borders-Copy-Paste

  9. #9
    Board Regular Michael M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    South Western NSW
    Posts
    17,804
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Why a function does not populate across when clicking the + icon?

    OK then......make my coffee a double today...
    Regards
    Michael M
    ---------------------------------------
    The more I learn, the less I seem to know.....A Please and Thank You cost nothing !
    It's easier to debug if we can see the whole macro !
    Home 2007 & 2013

    - Posting guidelines, forum rules and terms of use

    - To download Mr Excel HTML Maker

    - Try searching for your answer first, see how

    - Read the FAQs

    - List of BB codes


    [CODE]Place Your Code Here[/CODE]

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •