VBA: NEWB Tring to Break Out a Single Worksheet into Multiple Workbooks & Worksheets....

Netopia

Greetings!

I should start off by saying that I've some limited knowledge of VBA in Access, but have never done anything in VBA with Excel before right now. Please be gentle with me. ;)

I have a single workbook that contains a single worksheet. That worksheet has one column (Q, "REORDER") that contains numerous but undefined values. By undefined, I just mean that we don't know ahead of time what they will be. The general format of the column looks like this:

ABC1
ACB1
BAC1
ABC2
XYZ2
ZYZ2
CAB2
JKL3
MLK3
ABC3
CAB3
ZYZ3
LKJ4
JKL4
ACB4....

So, three letters that change every time the data is provided, followed by a single number of 1-9. That number designates what "group" the data belongs to, e.g. all of the 1's belong to "Group1", 2's to "Group2" ... etc. The three letters may or may not exist in more than one group.

Right now we:
  • Manually choose all of the records where Right(Q,1)=1. This would get us all of the "Group1" records.
  • Then we manually cut and paste these records into a new workbook.
  • We then filter (in the new workbook) for each one of the sub-groups (the three letters plus the number) and manually cut and paste these into separate worksheets.
  • Each worksheet is named the same as the sub-group that it contains.
  • Once all new worksheets have been created, the first worksheet that was pasted is removed and only the separate sub-group worksheets remain.
  • We name the new workbook the same as the original workbook but with " Group1" appended to the end.
  • Go back to original workbook and repeat the process for each group that exists in this week's data.

It currently takes a bit over a half hour manually, and then counts have to be double checked between the original workbook and each of the other workbooks/worksheets. I'm sure that in VBA this should be able to be accomplished in a minute or so, maybe two.