Delete Row Based on Row Position

syedbokhari

Board Regular
Hi Guys,

I have the row number of some values in a sheet (column E) see picture.

HH14X9C.png

I need to delete the row where the corresponding value sits.

I have used match to give me this as you can see from the picture.

The issue is that the value sometimes can be present in the look up column (column A).

Upon deleting the ROW the match will provide an NA which is perfectly fine as this will indicate there is only one unique value in column A.

Currently the value in column E can also be in A ...

That will indicate that this is the only value present and the corresponding value isn't present anymore.

The final result should look like this.

HH18Kte.png

The data set is much larger then this so I have just shortened it to make it easier (+6000 Rows).

I tried writing this in VBA but my skills aren't up to scratch as I'm still a beginner.

If you guys could help that would be awesome and I would be most grateful. Unfortunately I can't send food across the internet otherwise I would of provide you guys with some lemon cake.

Thanks,

Sy

Excel Facts

Return population for a City
If you have a list of cities in A2:A100, use Data, Geography. Then =A2.Population and copy down.
Try the following codes. I don't have data to test it though. try it on a co[y of your file (and not original)
Sub lemon_cake()
Dim a As Integer, b As Integer, x As Integer
x = Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row
For a = x To 1 Step -1
b = Application.WorksheetFunction.Match(Range("C" & a), Range("A1:A" & x), 0)
If b > 0 Then
Rows(a).Delete
End If
Next a
MsgBox "complete"
End Sub
If it works for you, I will ask my nephew to drop in next month in London.

Upvote 0
Try the following codes. I don't have data to test it though. try it on a co[y of your file (and not original)

If it works for you, I will ask my nephew to drop in next month in London.

Thank you for replying Ravishankar!