VBA message input to complete print range

Shadkng

I would like to use a macro with a message box response to complete a print range. So let's say I want a print range of A3 to C30, but I want the C30 to change based on the input in the message box. The A3 can remain fixed as that will not likely change. I am new to vba and could not fine anything in the search. Thanks

Excel Facts

Excel motto
Not everything I do at work revolves around Excel. Only the fun parts.
I know the code below is not correct but it may help convey what I want to do.

Sub print_range()
Dim response As String
response = InputBox ("enter 2nd part of range")
Worksheets("table prod").PageSetup.PrintArea = $A$3 and here I want to add the entry from the input box.
End Sub

Upvote 0
So something like this?

Code:
Sub print_range()
    Dim response As String
    Dim PrintAreaString As String

response = InputBox("Enter 2nd part of range (example: $H$10)", "Enter Data")
    PrintAreaString = "$A$3:" & Trim(response)
    If response <> "" Then
        Worksheets("table prod").PageSetup.PrintArea = PrintAreaString    ' and here I want to add the entry from the input box.
    End If
End Sub

Upvote 0
Yes this seems to work, thanks. Can you add one more twist? I have a row number in cell A1 which represents the last row that has data and which the print range goes down to. So could this be modified so the input would only have to be the column letter? So A3 to F50 as the print range, and 50 is in cell A1. The column letter would vary depending on what I need to print.

Upvote 0
Code:
Sub print_range()
    Dim response As String
    Dim PrintAreaString As String

response = InputBox("Enter column letter for 2nd part of range", "Enter Data")

With Worksheets("table prod")
        PrintAreaString = "$A$3:$" & Trim(UCase(response)) & "$" & .Range("A1").Value
        If response <> "" Then
            .PageSetup.PrintArea = PrintAreaString
        End If
    End With
End Sub

Upvote 0