VBA to delete rows based on one specific cell

mel_d

I'm new to VBA and can't figure this out. I need excel to look at cell A2 and delete rows 3-50 if cell A2 is blank. Can someone help me out with a code for this? Also, is there a way that excel can do this automatically, without having to run a macro. For example if I delete cell A2, it automatically deletes rows 3-50?

Any info is appreciated! TIA

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).
You can do it automatically but it requires VBA. Its dangerous though as there is no undo once the code runs. If you clear, not delete, the cell the rows and whatever is in them is gone. Anyway right click the sheet tab. Press view code. Paste in this:

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

If Target.Address(0, 0) <> "A2" Then Exit Sub
If Len(Target.Value) = 0 Then Rows("3:50").Delete Shift:=xlUp

End Sub

Upvote 0
You can do it automatically but it requires VBA. Its dangerous though as there is no undo once the code runs. If you clear, not delete, the cell the rows and whatever is in them is gone. Anyway right click the sheet tab. Press view code. Paste in this:

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

If Target.Address(0, 0) <> "A2" Then Exit Sub
If Len(Target.Value) = 0 Then Rows("3:50").Delete Shift:=xlUp

End Sub

So this worked in a very simple spreadsheet. I was trying to simplify my questions. I have lots of merged cells, does this code not work then? Because when I instered it into my more elaborate spreadsheet with formatting, it did nothing...

Upvote 0
Merged cells are never a good idea. Is A2 encapsulated within a merged cell?

Upvote 0
Ok, so I was able to do it once cells unmerged. Just one more question.

If I want to add another function to the same sheet, how do I do that? Here's what I'm trying to do in addition: