Conditional format based on another cell's formatting (eg fill / background color)

phirefly

Hello,

I've searched online and not had much luck trying to find a solution for this.

I am not an Excel expert and do not know VB so I was trying to use conditional formatting to format a cell based on another cell's format (fill color)...

• Find cells in range K5:V5 with fill color green [I use the Excel formatting "green fill with dark green text"]
  • >Of these cells, select the cell containing the HIGHEST value.
  • > > Format the adjacent cell AFTER the selected cell.

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.
If the green fill with dark green text is manual formatting, and not conditional formatting, then you must us VBA to do this. There is no worksheet function that will tell you the fill color or text color in a cell.

Upvote 0
If the green fill with dark green text is manual formatting, and not conditional formatting, then you must us VBA to do this. There is no worksheet function that will tell you the fill color or text color in a cell.

Hello @6StringJazzer, thanks for the reply :)

The green fill is a conditional format.

It is applied to various cells in K5:V5 (not sure of terminology: "non contiguous range"?).

I was hoping to use the color as I thought it might simplify the formula (because the cells are "non contiguous").

Upvote 0
You will need to use a formula that includes the condition you are using to make the cells green.

Upvote 0
can you use the same 'Condition' to format the second cell.

Upvote 0
Thank you for your input...I'm not sure if I can use that formula/condition. Here are the details...

The formula/condition to make the cells green is applied to each individual "Sell Price" column. Here is the formula for column K (applies to: Stationary!$K$5:$K$999):

• GREEN: =$C5>(K5*$F$3)