Comparing last two cells entered...

roxorvoxor

Hey guys. I have a worksheet given to me by corporate where they expect us to fill numerous rows in a column each day. Once they are entered we are to compare the last two columns and for each row show whether we are trending up or down in a separate column. Let's say I just filled Column AN Rows 5:35 with the percentages for the night shift. I must look at Columns AM and AN Rows 5:35, compare them, and if they are trending up put a ↑ in Column H Rows 5:35 and if it is trending down put a ↓ in Column H Rows 5:35. Is there a formula I could use for this? I'm not looking forward to VBA as I'm a noob with it but I'm sure there is a way to do it there. Below is a screenshot.

Capture.JPG

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
you could use SLOPE() - that will tell if + or - or flat

SLOPE(AM5:AN5,$AM$1:$AN$1)

or even TREND()

you could hide the value and put a conditional formatting arrow in place

example here
https://www.dropbox.com/s/2l7fqfwmb4qzpvy/trend_etaf.xlsx?dl=0

Thanks. I have to populate this report every week day and there are 83 row that need to be done each time. This may save me a little time since I could copy and paste it however if there is a way to auto-populate it that would be even better. This could be the in-between however.

Upvote 0
do you replace the data , or add to the bottom ?
if you setup the data as a table - the formula would autopopulate
otherwise you may need a VBA macro

Upvote 0
do you replace the data , or add to the bottom ?
if you setup the data as a table - the formula would autopopulate
otherwise you may need a VBA macro