spreadsheet macros and tables

sts8500man

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
OK. It appears no one is going to respond to my plea for help with creating dynamic charts from dynamic name ranges using the offset function. After repeated tries over too long a period of time to even talk about, I am finally giving up on creating dynamic charts in windows 10 and office 365. That used to work just fine when I was using vista and before office 365, now, I can't create a dynamic chart to save my mind and cannot figure how to do so from the myriad internet postings of it. Admittedly, I am not a programmer. I am a single user that is self educated on the various functions associated with Excel. That Offset function is difficult to understand but I finally understood it. However, I still cannot get my charts to update dynamically. Putting the range names into the series formulas seems to be the problem. I have tried everything imaginable to do that without success. I am frustrated.

So, I am about to give up but my alternatives are less than desirable. I have resisted using tables because I don't know a blooming thing about tables. For instance, if I convert my excel spreadsheet to a table will my VBA macros in the spreadsheet still work? I don't know and cannot find the answer to that. The other thing I am considering is ditching Excel in favor of Open Office Calc but doing that would cause me to have to start from scratch on a new learning curve for programming macros in Calc.

Would anyone care to comment on this? If not, I understand. You are probably tired of hearing about dynamic charting, but if that is the case, put the blame where it belongs. Microsoft apparently did something to the updates past those for Vista to screw up something that used to work just fine. Why is beyond my imagination.

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
Howdy