Excel VBA Vlookup using 2 workbooks

tanyaleblanc

Board Regular
Hi, I'm new to VBA and don't quite really understand much, I apologize, I'm trying to do a Vlookup from another workbook.

All I want to do is in cell b9 in my current workbook, search for values in another workbook (Finance Extract.xls) from cells d9 to last cell and return a value
Here is the code I used but it's returning a zero (0) in each row in column b

Range("b9:b" & lRow).Formula = "=iferror(VLOOKUP(d9,Finance Extract.xls!d:d,4,FALSE),0)"

What am I doing wrong?

Excel Facts

Excel Can Read to You
Customize Quick Access Toolbar. From All Commands, add Speak Cells or Speak Cells on Enter to QAT. Select cells. Press Speak Cells.
Re: VBA Vlookup from another Workbook

You are referencing the third argument, col_index_num as 4, but yet your table array is one column. Column D.

I suspect you may be looking up the value from the Finance Extract workbook in column A and then returning the fourth column over to the right.

Untested, try

Code:
[LEFT][COLOR=#333333][FONT=Verdana]Range("b9:b" & lRow).Formula = "[COLOR=#222222][FONT=Verdana]=IFERROR(VLOOKUP(D9,'[Finance Extract.xls]Sheet1'!$A:$D,4,FALSE),0)"[/FONT][/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/LEFT]
Maybe it would also help to get the spreadsheet formula to work first and then go for the VBA code.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Re: VBA Vlookup from another Workbook

I'm looking up the values on the finance extract on column D and returning those values on my current workbook in column D

The code you provided is not working

Upvote 0
Re: Translate Vlookup to vba code

Your code will probably be putting the formula referencing d9 in every row, rather than increasing the row number by one each time. So all rows will show the same result. You need your code to use the row number of the cell that you're inputting the formula in. Try:
Rich (BB code):
For each Cell in 
Range("b9:b" & lRow) Cell.Formula =