Percentages in Pivot Tables

AllanKealey

I am new to Pivot Tables and am having a problem with percentages.
I have a Pivot table which looks like this

Block Incidents Cumulative Incidents People Cumulative People Percentage Answer should be
1 47 47 32 32 23.15% 68.09%
2 37 84 28 60 18.25 % 71.43%
etc
Total 203 140 61.33%

The percentage is the Cumulative People divided by Cumulative incidents. I don't know where the 23.15% is coming from and want the correct answers within the pivot table so I can draw a graph. I seem to have tried every option and read numerous articles but nothing seems to address this issue.
Amy ideas? I am using Excel 2016 and Office 365

Thank in advance

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
I didn't realise the formatting of the message would mess up the table in my original post so here is a better version that might make more sense. I have highlighted the values which I need evaluated as a percentage. The correct answer, highlighted in yellow, is outside the pivot table but I would like that to be inside the pivot table so I can draw a graph from it. The data in the pivot table will be amended over time by adding more Blocks so I don't want to rely on manually creating the correct answers.
Thank you

BlockIncidentsCumulative IncidentsPeopleCumulative PeoplePercentageAnswer Should be
14747323223.15%68.09%
23784286018.25%71.43%
etc
Total20314061.33%

<tbody>
</tbody>

Last edited by a moderator:
Upvote 0
Hello,

Should you need to dig into Calculated Fields in a Pivot Table ...

see :https://www.contextures.com/excel-pivot-table-calculated-field.html

Hope this will help

Thanks for this but I cannot get it to work within the context of a pivot table.