VBA form question

dosman

I have created a 23 column spreadsheet with data validation cells using drop down lists and a few columns that do the standard date formatting (4/18/19 displays as Thursday, April 18, 2019)

Converting it to a table is not desirable and I would love to have a user form that "pulls" the validations from the existing cells in 2 sheets. Once the form creates the next row in the sheet I need to be able to go back and adjust values in the drop down lists without having to use the form which I only need to create a new row of data.

I am not a VB coder (although I am learning) but this is above my current pay grade. I do not know if the form would require me to clear the validation from a cell to allow it to do its magic or if the form can merely mirror the validations and formatting that already exist. I need the drop downs to still be functional once the form creates the row.

The form would only require a button on the main sheet labeled "New Job" with an "Add" button at the bottom. I can create the form using the VBA editor but am not sure of the code to insert.

I am more than willing to share the spreadsheet for analysis if anyone can help.

Best regards to an awesome community.

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
I help you with the creation of the userform, to add records to your sheet.

You could upload a copy of your file to a free site such as www.box.com or www.dropbox.com. Once you do that, mark it for 'Sharing' and you will be given a link to the file that you can post here. If the workbook contains confidential information, you could replace it with generic data.

Upvote 0
I have color coded the column labels to hopefully help quick analysis

I would like all columns to be included in the form except those in blue. They ae calculations based on the input values.