Using SUMPRODUCT to SUM a Defined Range

Rewcifer

Hi all!

Was hoping someone might have some more insight into how I can leverage named ranges and SUMPRODUCT. My objective is to create a business score card that contains subcategories within overall brands. So, for example, think about Brand X containing items in Subcategory A, B, and C.

I'm trying to leverage the naming manager to help make this scorecard a little easier to update. I have a master data sheet that contains all of the brands and sub categories; additionally, I have defined names for each brand. Within these defined names are the relevant subcategories the brand sells items in. So, in other words, I want to just say something like:

SUMPRODUCT(--(Category_List=Brand_Name),Category_List_TY_Sales), and have the formula SUM all of the relevant subcategories that exist in the "Brand_Name" defined range.

I've tried a proof of concept for this, but keep receiving a #N/A error. Was wondering if anyone might be able to point out what I'm doing incorrectly here! Thank you for any and all help!

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
Are the names similar size?

Can you post a sample of the data and tell us what result you want to make it clearer?

Upvote 0