Force save as

JamRivera

Hello I am trying to force users to save a file to a specific location on our network when they open a file from our intranet. I don't want the user to save the file back onto the intranet. Below is my code works great except a user can cancel the save as window and unintentionally save the altered file back onto the intranet.
BTW did i mention I'm new to this and appriacte any assistance

Sub Auto_Open()
Dim Workbook_Name As Variant

MsgBox "Save to desktop prior to working", vbInformation + vbOKOnly, "Hello Ops Team"

If Dir("R:\Provider Ops", vbDirectory) = "" Then
MsgBox "No folder"
Exit Sub
End If
If ThisWorkbook.name = "Triaging for Vendors.xlsm" Then Exit Sub
Workbook_Name = Application.GetSaveAsFilename("R:Provider Ops\Triaging for Vendors")
If Workbook_Name <> False Then

ActiveWorkbook.SaveAs _
FileName:=Workbook_Name & ".xlsm", _
FileFormat:=52
End If
End Sub

Excel Facts

Can you sort left to right?
To sort left-to-right, use the Sort dialog box. Click Options. Choose "Sort left to right"
Upvote 0
Hi Joe - this is great but it doesn't stop the user from closing the save as window.
I have the path in my macro it takes the user to a folder on the z drive on our network.
All the users folders are stored by their name.
They would select their folder and type in a new name then save the file.

The problem I have is the user/s are no saving the file when the save as window comes up.
ultimately what I would like is to keep the save as window open till the filename is typed in and the file is actually saved.

Or if there is a code to stop the user from saving to a specific folder that would work as well.

Upvote 0