Levenshtein Distance & String Transposition

LittleFurry

Hi all

I am new to the MrExcel community and am working on a fuzzy matching assignment. I managed to copy the Levenshtein Distance VBA code from https://stackoverflow.com/questions/4243036/levenshtein-distance-in-vba and it gave me the result I wanted.

For instance if I compared "Osama Ben Ladn" with "Osama Bin Laden", the Levenshtein Distance output is 2, which is correct.

However when I used the code to evaluate "Prem Kumar" with "Kumar Prem", the Levenshtein Distance output is 10. In actual fact, the Levenshtein Distance should be 0 since the individual is the same person, except that the name is transposed.

Appreciate any help from the community to guide me in the right direction and provide VBA code if possible. Thank You very much!

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.
Hello there and welcome. Whilst I am not aquainted with the Levenshtein Distance, I found this on wiki.
Informally, the Levenshtein distance between two words is the minimum number of single-character edits (i.e. insertions, deletions or substitutions) required to change one word into the other.
This suggests that the result of 10 is correct (you would delete the first 5 characters - Prem and a space, and insert them at the end). It looks like you will need a different algorithm.

Upvote 0
Hello there and welcome. Whilst I am not aquainted with the Levenshtein Distance, I found this on wiki.
This suggests that the result of 10 is correct (you would delete the first 5 characters - Prem and a space, and insert them at the end). It looks like you will need a different algorithm.

Hi jmacleary