Thread: Excel VBA Macro for Automatic Sequential Invoice Number Generator upon opening that works for a shared document
Thanks Thanks: 0 Likes Likes: 0

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Exclamation Excel VBA Macro for Automatic Sequential Invoice Number Generator upon opening that works for a shared document

Hello, I am a beginner with macros and am having trouble. I have created a macro that creates a new sequential Invoice number upon opening a protected document. My issue is that several people in the company will be using this same document. How can I make sure that If several people have the document open, they each get a different Invoice number so that they are no duplicate invoice numbers.

Here is the code I currently have that I mentioned above that works, but not if several people try to access the doc:

Private Sub Workbook_Open()
    ActiveSheet.Unprotect
    With Range("K2")
    .NumberFormat = "10000"
    .Value = .Value + 1
    End With
    ActiveSheet.Protect DrawingObjects:=True, Contents:=True, Scenarios:=True
    End Sub

Here is the rest of the macros that I created in the document as well, in case they are affecting it somehow:

Sub SaveAsPDF()
    '
    ' SaveAsPDF Macro
    '

'
    ActiveSheet.ExportAsFixedFormat Type:=xlTypePDF, FileName:= _
    "/Users/brittneywilliams/Desktop/Quote_" & Range("K2").Text, Quality:=xlQualityMinimum, _
    IncludeDocProperties:=True, IgnorePrintAreas:=False, OpenAfterPublish:= _
    False
    End Sub

Sub ClearContents()
    '
    ' ClearContents Macro
    '

'
    Range( _
    "E4,H4,J4:K4,C8:J8,C10:D10,F10:G10,I10:J10,C12:E12,I12:J12,C17:F17,J17,C19:J19,C21:F21,J21,C23:F23,I23:J23,C25:J25,C27:D2 7,G27:H27,C29:D29,C31:F31,C33:J33,C40,F40,I40,C42,F42,I42,C48,F48,I48,H50:J50,H52:J52,C72:J74" _
    ).Select
    Selection.ClearContents
    End Sub

Sub ClearCheckBoxes()
    'Updateby Extendoffice 20161129
    Dim chkBox As Excel.CheckBox