Macro Application.OnTime TimeValue doesnt run all the time

marcusz

Hi,

I am new here. This is my first post.I am a Linux sysadmin originally. I am trying to help someone with a system to manage some inventory. I build some Excel workbooks that gather input from different sources in 1 master excel workbook. So far all good.
This master workbook needs to run a macro every night at 01.00h am, so the values are copied to the next sheet ( day ). The workbook has 31 sheets, 1 for every day.
Also I have another macro in this workbook that runs every 5 minutes to grab several cells, open another file, paste them there, and close that file.

The 5 minute macro works perfect, the macro that has to run at 01.00h am, runs perfect for several days, and then sometimes it just does nothing, or doesnt run. I have no idea why it fails to run sometime.
The Excel file is open 24/7

No error message or whatever, it jut appears the next morning it didnt run.
Is there any way to debug this ?

Thanks in advance and also thanks for letting me drop in here and start asking for help immediatelty.

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
you might try and trap the actual time the event runs and put it on a sheet. if its exactly 1 am and something is busy then i wouldn't think it will run on time

Upvote 0
Thanks for the reply.
So if the 5 min macro is running exactly at 01.00h am , then the 01.00h am macro would skip ?

In my ' workbook code ' I have this now
Code:
  Private Sub Workbook_Open()
Application.OnTime Now + TimeValue("00:05:00"), "Collect_Save"
Application.OnTime TimeValue("01:00:00"), "Master_IV_copy"
End Sub

And then I have the several 'modules' with the macros in it. Does this look like an approach that isn;t failsafe ?

Thanks

Upvote 0