Move cells up based on cell above

cfp14

Hi All,

I need some major help haha. I'm a total newbie to VBA, started out of necessity. I need to write a function that when data from sheet 1 is inserted to sheet 2 it looks at that new data and if the cell above it is empty it moves the cell up until no empty cells remain. So essentially top justifying the cells, if that makes any sense. I don't want to just delete the empty rows as I have a set amount of 50 and need it to stay at 50. I'm not sure what the best way to go about this is but I'll give you what I have. For all I know (not a whole lot) this is all wrong. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Code:
Sub Move_Cell_Up()
    Dim rng As Range
    Dim cell As Range
    Set rng = ActiveSheet.Range("D7:D56,E7:E56")
    For Each cell In rng
        If ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0) = " " Then
            Selection.Offset(1, 0).Select
        Else
            Selection.Offset(0, 0).Select
        End If
    Next cell
End Sub

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.
cfp14, Not wishing to be unkind but FYI your code is not doing what you might hope. See the notes below.

Code:
Sub Move_Cell_Up()    Dim rng As Range
    Dim cell As Range
    Set rng = ActiveSheet.Range("D7:D56,E7:E56")  [COLOR=#ff0000]'set range variable[/COLOR]
    For Each cell In rng [COLOR=#ff0000] 'loop through cells in [/COLOR][COLOR=#ff0000]range[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#ff0000]    'ActiveCell = whatever you have selected and is NOT [/COLOR][COLOR=#ff0000]cell[/COLOR]
        If ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0) = " " Then [COLOR=#ff0000] 'If ActiveCell = ''a space character'' ??[/COLOR]
            Selection.Offset(1, 0).Select. [COLOR=#ff0000]'unlikely to happen[/COLOR]
        Else
            Selection.Offset(0, 0).Select
[COLOR=#ff0000]            'So will likely do nothing at all[/COLOR]
        End If