VBA Macro shortcut to "paste special formula"

aditya8090

Hi all! I have been trying to write VBA macro to simulate the keystroke (Ctrl + Alt + v + f) to copy and paste formula from an excel cell. I'm a beginner, and so far I've been able to develop the functionality of copying the formula and pasting it relationally. However, the code breaks if it is pasted to a column having more or less elements than the column it was copied for. I've attached a graphical representation for the problem too. Please help me fix this. Thanks, in advance.

Code:

Sub Macro1()
'
' Macro1 Macro
'
' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+q
'
ActiveCell.Offset(0, 0).Range("A1").Select
Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteFormulas, Operation:=xlNone, _
SkipBlanks:=False, Transpose:=False
End Sub

Graphical representation (the formula is just summing up the elements - 16 is the sum of 2 eight times):
A B C D
^^ Code breaks above

<colgroup><col width="64" style="width: 48pt;" span="7"> <tbody> </tbody>

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
My question would be:
What Range do you want to sum and where do you want the results entered.

If your going to use Vba why copy the formula?

Vba can just put the results of the formula in a Range

Like this script sums up the Range("A1:A10")
And puts results in Range("B1")
Code:
Sub My_Formula()
'Modified 7/15/2019 3:19:44 PM  EDT
Dim ans As Long
ans = Application.WorksheetFunction.Sum(Range("A1:A10"))
Range("B1").Value = ans
End Sub

Upvote 0
Thanks for replying! I am working on a worksheet with a lot of for formulas and It would definitely be easier for me to just copy-paste the formula from the row beside instead of creating custom macros for the different formulas

Upvote 0