Using a variable inside a range

SparkyFL

[FONT=&quot]VBA newbie here. I am trying to create a tool for keeping stats for my son’s basketball team. In simple terms, this is what I want to create: Three buttons - Player A, Player B, Two Pointer. When Player A scores, I click the Player A button then the Two Pointer button. In my (inexperienced) mind, the logic goes like this: When the Player A button is clicked, that sets the variable CurrentPlayer to Player A; then when the Two Pointer button is clicked, a cell dedicated to Player A’s points total is incremented by 2. I am getting stuck on the Two Pointer button, because I don’t know how to use the CurrentPlayer variable to increment the correct cell by 2. What I am trying to avoid is having a Two Pointer button for each player, because as you can imagine that gets unwieldy when we add in 3 pointers, free throws, steals, assists, blocks, etc. Thanks![/FONT]

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
You could do this without any buttons but simply by double clicking the player's name (assuming you have a list of player names in a column). When you double click on a name, a user form would pop up where you can select any one of two pointer, 3 pointer, free throw, steal, assist or block and have the appropriate totals incremented. If this approach would work for you, perhaps you could upload a copy of your file to a free site such as www.box.com or www.dropbox.com. Once you do that, mark it for 'Sharing' and you will be given a link to the file that you can post here. Include a detailed explanation of what you would like to do using a few examples from your data and referring to specific cells, rows, columns and worksheets. If the workbook contains confidential information, you could replace it with generic data.

Upvote 0