Index/Match - Search Table and then search column

kobe_beef_14

I'm running into a bit of a problem trying to do a lookup whereby I search for a specific table (with its own named range) and then a column within that table which corresponds to a row. Here's an analogy to make it a lot easier to understand:

I'm a teacher with a grade workbook. I have different sheets (Tests, Homework, etc.) and within each sheet are individual tables, which correspond to a specific assignment. Within "Tests," I might have individual tables named "Test 1/1," "Test 1/31" and so on. Each table also has its own named range (e.g.: Test_Jan_One).

I want to to be able to compare students' scores on each assignment, so I have a sheet named "Compare Tool." On it, there are three dropdowns: Two are the students in the class (identical, and each corresponds to a named range like "Class_Roster." In the third dropdown search I have a dropdown of ALL assignments. To make it easier, I've added a helper sheet that simply lists out all of the tests/homeworks/etc. into its own named range.

In theory, I could first select a single assignment from the dropdown, then select two students from the other two dropdowns, and then compare their scores from that assignment. I've tried using a double lookup, but quickly realized that I'm not exactly searching two columns, but rather over many tables (~15 or so) and then for data within a specific table.

In summary, Index/Match whereby I first match an entire table (that has its own named range) and then within that table, I can then match the students to their scores.

Thank you!

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?
No! when you are using an exact match, the VLOOKUP table can be in any order. Best-selling items at the top is actually the best.
I've made a simple mockup.
name range: Col A:B test1, D:E test2 & G:H test3
with the 3 dropdown for test & 2 students.

will that work for you?

Book1
ABCDEFGHIJKL