VBA that detects conditional formatting

jupasto

Hello,

To preface I'm a total noob with VBA but I found a simple VBA function on the web that tests if a cell is bold or not and returns true or false. I also have some conditional formatting set up to turn text bold if it's within a certain date.

My problem is that even though the conditional formatting works and turns the text bold, the "ISBOLD" function still returns false. Is there a way to modify the VBA to detect the bold text?

Code:
Function ISBOLD(cell As Range) As Boolean

Application.Volatile True
  On Error GoTo PartiallyBold
    ISBOLD = cell.Characters.Font.Bold
  On Error GoTo 0

Exit Function

PartiallyBold:
  If Err.Number = 94 Then ISBOLD = True

End Function

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.
Re: Help with VBA that detects conditional formatting

Hi & welcome to MrExcel.
Assuming that you are calling that function from the worksheet, then I'm afraid that it can't done.

Upvote 0

You're welcome & thanks for the feedback.
If it's of any help a macro can detect CF formats, but it wouldn't be automatic.

Upvote 0

Hmm it sounds like you're saying there's is a way to use a VBA macro/function to detect conditionally formatted bold text, but it wouldn't be volatile i.e. update automatically?

I'm OK with hitting F9 or whatever to refresh the function if I could get it to return true when the conditional formatting is on...

Upvote 0

It would need to be a macro, which is different from a UDF (user defined function).
What ranges would you want to check & where would you want the answer?

Upvote 0