Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Formula copy
Thanks Thanks: 0 Likes Likes: 0

  1. #1
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Formula copy

    OK i will try to explain this,
    in column AA6 to AA320 i have a formula of =(k6) all the way down to k320
    i need to copy AA6-AA320 into cells AC6toAQ6 acroos then down to aq50

    HELP

  2. #2
    Board Regular Gerald Higgins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    9,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Formula copy

    OK . . . do you know how to Copy / Paste ?

    Which bit exactly are you struggling with ?
    The following is my SIGNATURE. It's not part of any question or solution I'm posting. If it IS your solution, you've got a very weird problem !

    Sub Macro()
    ActiveCell = "IY" & Right(Application.Name, 5)
    With ActiveCell.Characters(Start:=2, Length:=1).Font
    .Name = "Webdings"
    .Color = 255
    End With
    End Sub

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Formula copy

    ok so when i copy and paste the formulas do not follow , so instead of AA6 going to ac6 it changes to=(AB6). If i do a copy and paste values it doesn't scroll down just fills in to the right.

  4. #4
    Board Regular Gerald Higgins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    9,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Formula copy

    OK.
    Don't use Copy / Paste Values, it sounds like that is not what you need right now.

    You also don't need the formula
    =(k6)
    it can be replaced with
    =k6

    Now, when I have the formula
    =k6
    in cell AA6, and copy / paste this formula into AC6, then in AC6 the formula becomes
    =m6

    Is that what you want it to do ?
    If NO, please specify exactly what you want the formula in AC6 to be.
    The following is my SIGNATURE. It's not part of any question or solution I'm posting. If it IS your solution, you've got a very weird problem !

    Sub Macro()
    ActiveCell = "IY" & Right(Application.Name, 5)
    With ActiveCell.Characters(Start:=2, Length:=1).Font
    .Name = "Webdings"
    .Color = 255
    End With
    End Sub

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Formula copy

    i need aa6 to be ac6
    aa7 to be ad6
    aa8 to be ae6
    aa9 to be af6
    and only fill 10 rows across
    then start below ac6


    ac6 ac7 ac8 ac9 ac10 ac11 ac12 ac13 ac14 ac15
    ac16 ac17 ac18 ac19 ac20.............................
    ac26 ac27 ....

  6. #6
    Board Regular Gerald Higgins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    9,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Formula copy

    Please, try and explain CLEARLY what you want.

    What does it mean to say
    i need aa6 to be ac6
    Do you mean you want the formula in cell aa6 to be
    Code:
    =ac6
    ?
    The following is my SIGNATURE. It's not part of any question or solution I'm posting. If it IS your solution, you've got a very weird problem !

    Sub Macro()
    ActiveCell = "IY" & Right(Application.Name, 5)
    With ActiveCell.Characters(Start:=2, Length:=1).Font
    .Name = "Webdings"
    .Color = 255
    End With
    End Sub

  7. #7
    Board Regular Sam_D_Ben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    381
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Formula copy

    I guess it could be "Transpose function" Op looking for or should lock it with dollar.
    Last edited by Sam_D_Ben; Aug 28th, 2019 at 11:49 AM.
    Sam_D_Ben

  8. #8
    Board Regular Gerald Higgins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    9,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Formula copy

    Sam_D_Ben - yes I think you might be right, but I'm waiting to get more clarity from OP before I do much more on this.

    I can't see how a basic transpose would deliver what I think are the expected results, from the start position in the OP.
    The following is my SIGNATURE. It's not part of any question or solution I'm posting. If it IS your solution, you've got a very weird problem !

    Sub Macro()
    ActiveCell = "IY" & Right(Application.Name, 5)
    With ActiveCell.Characters(Start:=2, Length:=1).Font
    .Name = "Webdings"
    .Color = 255
    End With
    End Sub

  9. #9
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Formula copy

    no, I need aa6 to copy into ac6
    aa7 to copy to ad6
    so that the column aa6-aa360
    copies to ac6-aq38
    right now just copies straight across or lose formula.

    603-505-1753

  10. #10
    Board Regular Gerald Higgins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    9,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Formula copy

    I'm close to giving up on this.

    Same question again from post #4 -
    please specify exactly what you want the formula in AC6 to be
    What does this mean (from post #9 )
    603-505-1753
    ?

    I'm starting to think that maybe you want to copy the entries in a single column, or one dimensional range, into a two dimensional array.
    Am I close ?
    But, it looks like there are 355 entries in the range aa6-aa360, and 495 entries in the range ac6-aq38, so maybe that's not what you want.
    The following is my SIGNATURE. It's not part of any question or solution I'm posting. If it IS your solution, you've got a very weird problem !

    Sub Macro()
    ActiveCell = "IY" & Right(Application.Name, 5)
    With ActiveCell.Characters(Start:=2, Length:=1).Font
    .Name = "Webdings"
    .Color = 255
    End With
    End Sub

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •