Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: If cell contains data then format
Thanks Thanks: 0 Likes Likes: 0

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default If cell contains data then format

    I need help with borders on this spreadsheet. This is a combination of several spreadsheets which I didn't build.
    This has 6 set columns. Each numbered task may contain 1 to 6 rows.
    I need to place a border around EACH task.
    There is data in column A for each task.
    Is it possible to create a conditional formula that would look at Column A and determine if there was data. If there is data then place a upper border along the entire row.

    Ex - Since there is Data in A1, I need an upper border along A1-F1
    Since there is no Data in A2, No border
    A3 - border
    A4 - no border
    A5 - no border
    A6 - border
    A7 border



    A B C D E F
    1 26-1 INSPECT PORTABLE FIRE EXTINGUISHER FOR CONDITION AND WEIGHT. NFPA-10 Mod 2
    Sup Insp
    1187.3
    2
    3 28-1 PERFORM FUNCTIONAL TEST OF FUEL LOW SENSOR. 28-40-00, 5-2 Mod 2 959.5
    4
    5
    6 29-1 CHANGE FLUID OF HYDRAULIC SYSTEM NO. 1 AND NO. 2.
    REPLACE FILTERS, REINSTALL ALL REMOVED COWLINGS.
    29-00-00, 3-3 Mod 2 1187.3
    7 29-2 REMOVE HYDRAULIC PUMP, INSPECT DRIVE SPLINES, LUBRICATE SPLINES
    USING SUNSTRAND SPLINE LUBE AND REINSTALL WITHOUT DISCONNECTING
    HYDRAULIC LINES.
    29-10-00, 4-1
    STEP 1,2,3,6,7
    29-10-00, 4-2
    Mod 2 1187.3
    8
    9
    10
    11

    Mod 2

  2. #2
    Board Regular JonXL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    216
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: If cell contains data then format

    Have you looked into using Conditional Formatting?

    https://support.office.com/en-us/art...b-f1951ff89d7f

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: If cell contains data then format

    Yes I have. I just can't seem to get the formula correct.

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    Fluff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Chippenham
    Posts
    29,120
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    483 Post(s)
    Tagged
    49 Thread(s)

    Default Re: If cell contains data then format

    Select all the data & use this formula
    =$A1<>""

    where A1 is the first cell in the applies to range
    - Posting Data try one of these tools
    - Posting guidelines, forum rules and terms of use
    - Read the FAQs

    Running Office 365 on Win 10

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: If cell contains data then format

    That worked perfect. Thank you so much. I guess I was just thinking too hard.

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    Fluff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Chippenham
    Posts
    29,120
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    483 Post(s)
    Tagged
    49 Thread(s)

    Default Re: If cell contains data then format

    You're welcome & thanks for the feedback
    - Posting Data try one of these tools
    - Posting guidelines, forum rules and terms of use
    - Read the FAQs

    Running Office 365 on Win 10

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •