Help with matching by alpha and by number

kate s

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello, Excel friends. I am trying to wrap my head around how to match by alpha and by number. I have below an example of what I'm going for.

Example: Meeting group discussions with one group leader for every room number. People assigned to room one with the last name between a-ch will have Wayne Barron as their group leadder. People assigned to room two with last name between d-he will have Urich Elms as their group leader, etc.

I will have about 50 to 75 people assigned with a room. I need a print out so they will know who their group leader will be. I am forced to work with a Excel 10 on client's computer. I'm a novice, so this is a challenge. I tried index match but I'm faced with the alphabetical system they insist on with various length a-ch, mc-rote, etc. I tried doing a helper cell with =length, but I'm a bit at a loss how to proceed.

Thank you for the help. Much appreciated! I can of course split up the a-ch, ci-gi into separate cells and get rid of the dash. I just don't know where to go from there.

Room Barron Elms Johnson Heller
1 a-ch ci-gi go-ma mc-r
2 a-c d-he hi-ma mc-rote
3 a-cra de-he hi-lo lu-r

<tbody>
</tbody>

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
Welcome to the MrExcel board!

Assumptions
- You will have more 'Leader columns' to cover the entire alphabet in your real data
- You will have ensured that the break-up of the alphabet across each row does not exclude any possible names. For example, with your sample, Don Davis or Jan Cryller would have no leader if assigned to room 3 (though my formula would give them a leader. :)

Anyway see if this is any use for you. Post back with examples if you find some that this does not work for (I'm not over-confident that this will have covered all bases :))

Excel Workbook